Last Update: 18.1.2005

__________________

Alexander von Bernus
& die Alexander  von Bernus Gesellschaft e.V.
__________________

Alexander von Bernus
Gesellschaft e.V.
Schloss Donaumünster
Alexander v. Bernus-Strasse 4
86660 Tapfheim
Kontakt

__________________

Coat of Arms
 
Biographical Sketch

 

The following text has been abridged from a publication by the Alexander von Bernus Foundation. I've tried to keep the translation close.

Alexander von Bernus (click on the name below for a larger picture) Alexander von Bernus (1880 – 1965) was a poet and alchemist. His first exposure to the literary and artistic puplic occured when he was still a student. He became the publisher of the literary magazine »Die Freistatt«, for which wrote renowned authors, who, at the turn of the century, had made the Munich district of Schwabing famous. Among them were, to name but the most well known,  Karl Wolfskehl, Ricarda Huch, Else Lasker-Schüler Frank Wedekind, Franz Blei, Rainer Maria Rilke, Paul Scheerbart, Stefan Zweig, Thomas Mann and Hermann Hesse, with whom von Bernus had friendly relationships over the years. Until 1926 he kept open for them Stift Neuburg, his country residence near Heidelberg, to serve as a meeting and working place over the summer months. Also among the frequent visitors were Stefan George and his circle.

Only 23 years old he went public with his own literary works and met immediate success. His first volume of poetry »Aus Rauch und Raum« (roughly »Of Smoke and Space«) was received positively by the public. Together with, among others, Will Vesper, Karl Wolfskehl, Rolf von Hoerschelmann, Karl Thylmann and Emil Preetorius he ran his own little theatre from 1907 to 1912, the »Schwabinger Schattenspiele« (Schwabinger Shadowplay). In 1912 he met Rudolf Steiner and a close friendship developed between both of them until Steiner's death. From 1916 to 1920 he published the magazine »Das Reich« (»The Realm«) for which Steiner was one of the most important contributors. Over the course of his life Alexander von Bernus published over twenty volumes of poetry, he wrote novellas, shadowplays, theatre plays, mystery plays, prose texts and an important work in the fields of alchemy and natural science: »Alchymie und Heilkunst« (»Alchemy and the Art of Healing«).

Beside his literary work von Bernus dedicated himself to research in alchemy and the natural sciences. In the year 1921 he founded his own alchemical-spagyrical laboratory, in which, in decades of concetrated work, he developed more than thirty healing substances. Bernus continued the ancient tradition of alchemy – which had more or less fallen into discontinuity after Paracelsus – in a practical way, hence returning to the natural sciences their spiritual dimension. With the very effective healing substances, which where the results of his work, he proved to the 20th century that there is more to alchemy than superstitions from the middle-ages 

Alexander von Bernus' life and work tell of a rich personality, and a combination of many talents. He was both, a withdrawn, and in his spiritual beliefs often lonely poet and researcher and a public figure. He was a member of the PEN and of the Akademie für Sprache und Dichtung (Academy of Language and Poetry), and he was always in contact with other creative thinkers of his time. Bernus entered three marriages, the last of which, with Isa von Bernus, née Oberländer, was to bring the fulfilment he had been looking for. Both of them lived and worked together for 35 years until Alexander von Bernus' death in 1965.

 

Back to Main

Last Update: 18.1.2005

__________________

Alexander von Bernus
& die Alexander  von Bernus Gesellschaft e.V.
__________________

Alexander von Bernus
Gesellschaft e.V.
Schloss Donaumünster
Alexander v. Bernus-Strasse 4
86660 Tapfheim
Kontakt

__________________

Coat of Arms
 
Biografische Skizze

 

Der folgende Text wurde in gekürzter Form einer Veröffentlichung der Alexander von Bernus Stiftung e.V. entnommen: 

Alexander von Bernus (click on the name below for a larger picture) Alexander von Bernus (1880 – 1965) war Dichter und Alchymist. In die literarische, künstlerische Öffentlichkeit trat er schon als Student ein. Er wurde Herausgeber der literarischen Zeitschrift »Die Freistatt«, in der die namhaften Literaten schrieben, die das Münchner Schwabing der Jahrhundertwende berühmt machten. Mit ihnen, mit Karl Wolfskehl, Ricarda Huch, Else Lasker-Schüler Frank Wedekind, Franz Blei, Rainer Maria Rilke, Paul Scheerbart, Stefan Zweig, Thomas Mann und Hermann Hesse, um nur die Bekanntesten zu nennen, stand er jahrelang in freundschaftlicher Beziehung. Stift Neuburg, seinen Landsitz bei Heidelberg, stellte er bis 1926 während der Sommermonate für sie als Musenort und Treffpunkt zur Verfügung. Auch Stefan George und sein Kreis gingen dort jahrelang aus und ein.

Bereits mit 23 Jahren trat er mit eigenen literarischen Werken in die Öffentlichkeit und hatte sofort Erfolg. Sein erster Gedichtband »Aus Rauch und Raum« wurde von der Öffentlichkeit positiv aufgenommen. Von 1907 bis 1912 betrieb er zusammen mit Will Vesper, Karl Wolfskehl, Rolf von Hoerschelmann, Karl Thylmann und Emil Preetorius unter anderen ein eigenes kleines Theater, die »Schwabinger Schattenspiele«. 1912 lernte er Rudolf Steiner kennen, mit dem ihn bis zu dessen Tode eine enge Freundschaft verband. 1916 bis 1920 gab er die Zeitschrift »Das Reich« heraus, bei der Rudolf Steiner der bedeutendste Mitarbeiter war. Im Laufe seines Lebens veröffentlichte Alexander von Bernus über zwanzig Gedichtbände, schrieb Novellen, Schattenspiele, Stücke, Mysterienspiele, Prosatexte und ein bedeutendes alchymistisch-naturwissenschaftliches Werk »Alchymie und Heilkunst«.

Neben der dichterischen Tätigkeit widmete er sich der naturwissenschaftlich-alchymistischen Forschung. Im Jahre 1921 gründete er sein eigenes alchymistisch-spagyrisches Laboratorium, in dem er in jahrzehntelanger Arbeit über dreißig Heilmittel entwickelte. Bernus war derjenige, der die jahrtausendealte Tradition der Alchymie, die mit Paracelsus mehr oder weniger abgebrochen war, wieder aufgegriffen hat. Er hat damit der Naturwissenschaft ihre geistige Dimension zurückgegeben. Mit seinen Forschungsresultaten, den sehr wirksamen Heilmitteln, lieferte er im 20. Jahrhundert den Beweis, daß Alchymie mehr ist als mittelalterlicher Gespensterglaube.

Alexander von Bernus' Leben und Werk zeugen von einer reichen Persönlichkeit, die viele Talente vereinigte. So war er beides, ein zurückgezogener, in seinem geistigen Anschauen oft einsamer Dichter und Forscher und eine Persönlichkeit des öffentlichen Lebens. Er war Mitglied des PEN und der Akademie für Sprache und Dichtung und stand immer in Kontakt mit anderen schöpferischen Geistern seiner Zeit. Er ist drei Ehen eingegangen, wovon die letzte, mit Isa von Bernus, geb. Oberländer, die Erfüllung brachte, nach der er gesucht hatte. Sie haben 35 Jahre lang, bis zu seinem Tode im Jahr 1965, zusammen gelebt und gearbeitet.

 

 

Zurück zum Index